HOME Introduction of Hwasun-Gun General condition History


It is considered that Yeoraebiriguk was located in Neugju and Hwasun regions and Byeokbiriguk was located in Dongbok region.
~ 1914
Three Hyeons of Hwasun, Neunju and Dongbok maintained independent administrative system and they were divided into: Yireungburi-gun (爾陵夫里郡: area of Neungju) having a broad plain; Yingriahyeon (仍利阿縣: area of Hwasun) which is located along the edge of the river; and Dubujihyeon (豆夫只縣: area of Dongbok) where a pot-shape rock is located.
United SillaPeriod
As King Gyeongduk implemented a nationwide policy to making place names in Chinese characters and two syllables, the names of those hyeons were changed: Yireungburi-gun (爾陵夫里郡) into Neungsung-gun (陵城郡); Yingriahyeon (仍利阿縣) into Yeomihyeon (汝湄縣); and Dubujihyeon (豆夫只縣) into Dongbokhyeon, which belonged into Goksung-gun. In 940, Koryo Dinasty, the names of those hyeons were changed again: Neungsunghyeon changes its name in Chinese character into Neungsunghyeon (綾城縣); Yeomihyeon into Hwasunhyeon (和順縣); and Dongbokhyeon (同福縣)) became to be belonged into Bosung-gun in 1018. In 1143, for the first time, the central government dispatched an administrative official titled Gammu (監務: Governor of county) to Neungsunghyeon and, in around 1280, in the era of King Chungyeol, Gammu was also dispatched to Dongbok for the first time for the reason that it was the hometown of famous national monk Joyoungguksa or Joyeumguksa (祖英 or 祖琰) and, in 1390, the late Koryo Dynasty, A Gammu was also dispatched to Hwasun and he also governed Nampyunghyeon. At that time, direct administration of central government reached into those regions. Prior to dispatching Gammu, all of these regions were self-governed villages and were considered to be indirectly governed by wealthy local farmers and self-governed villages located in Dongbokhyeon were divided into Boryeonghyeon (保寧縣: area of current Yiseomyeon ), Daegokhyeon (大谷縣: area of current Nammyeon), Suchonhyeon ( 水村縣: area of current Suri, Bukmyeon) and Apgokhyeon (鴨谷縣: Okri, Hyeonbukmyeon).
Chosun Dynasty
Even during several years, these three Hyeons were repeatedly consolidated and divided: in 1396, for the first time, Hwasunhyeon was removed and the region consisted of only Neusunghyeon and Dongbokgammu (also ruled Hwasunhyeon and the region was divided; into Neungsunghyeon and Hwasungammu (also ruled Dongbok) in 1405; into Neungsunghyeon and Boksunhyeon (福順縣: Dongbok and Hwasun were condolidated) in 1407; Neungsunghyeon and Hwasunhyeon (also ruled Dongbok) in 1413; into Sunseonghyeon (順城縣. consolidated Hwasun and Neungsung) in 1416; into Neungsunghyeon, Hwasunhyeon and Dongbokhyeon in 1418 when consolidation of these three areas was impossible. In 1597 when the damage from Jeongyoujaeran (Japanese invasion) was too severe, the residents of Hwasunhyeon by themselves voluntarily consolidate the area into Neungsunghyeon and, only in 1611, Hwasunhyeon was restored. In memorizing that restoration, the residents planted a ginkgo tree in the location at current Hwasun-gun Office. In 1632, 10 years after from Injobanjeong (enthronement of a new king), Neungsunghyeon ranked up by one level for the reason that the region is hometown of the Empress Inheon who is the mother of King Injo. Thereafter, the Hwasun region continued to be divided into Neungjumok, Hwasunhyeon and Dongbokhyeon until the period of the Republic of Korea, while Dongbokhyeon was consolidated into Hwasunhyeon for a while because its official residence and picture of King were burnt by a fire in 1655. In May 1, 1895 when local administrative districts were reformed, that region was divided into Neungju-gun, Hwasun-gun and Dongbok-gun and, on Oct. 15, 1908, in Japanese occupation, that region was divided into Neungju-gun and Dongbok-gun by removing Hwasun-gun to be consolidated into Neungju-gun.
Occupation 1913
Neungju-gun was renamed as Hwasun-gun and the region was divided into Hwasun-gun and Dongbok-gun and, on Mar. 1, 1914, even Dongbok-gun was removed and consolidated into Hwasun-gun. It is the time when the current shape administrative district was firstly formed.
Nov. 1, 1932
The region was adjusted into 13 myeons and current Eup/Myeon system was arranged and, on Jan. 1, 1963, Hwasun-myeon, where the county office is located, was raised to the status of a Eup. (Act No. 1177 for Establishment of Eup and Myeon) and, on May 18, 1966, the local offices of Youngoi, Mukgok and Yonggang were established, respectively (No. 122, Ordinance of Gun)
July 1, 1973
uman-ri of Dong-myeon and Judo-ri of Dogok-myeon were consolidated into Hwasun-eup, respectively (No. 6542 of Presidential Decree and No. 11027 of Presidential Decree, respectively) in July 1, 1973 and Feb. 15, 1983, respectively.
Hwasun-eup was adjusted by making: Gyeso 1-gu into Gyeso 1 and 3-gu; Chunyang-myeon was adjusted by making Hwarim 1-gu inro Hwarim 1 and 3-gu (No. 1074 of Gun Ordinance); Hwasun-eup was adjusted by making: Gyo-ri was divided into Gyo-ri 1 and 2-gu on Oct. 12, 1996; Manyeon 2-gu into Manyeon 2 and 3-gu; Ilsim 3-gu into Ilsim 3 and 4-gu; Gwangduk 1-gu into Gwangduk 1 and 4-gu; Bakun 1 and 2-ri of Chungpung-myeon into Bakun-ri (No. 848 of Gun Ordinance); and Yonggan and Mukgok branches was removed on Oct. 1, 1998 (No. 1563 of Gun Ordinance).
Aug. 5, 1999
Hwasun-eup was adjusted by making: Manyeon 3-gu into Manyeon 3, 4, 5, and 6-gu; Ilsim 1-gu into Ilsim 1 and 5-gu; Daeri 4-gu into Dari 4 and 5-gu (No. 1608 of Gun Ordinance); Shingi-ri into Shingi 1 and 2-gu and Daeri 4-gu into Dari 4 and 6-gu; Byeokra 1-gu into Byeokra 1 and 3-gu; and Gyeso 1-gu into Gyeso 1 and 4-gu (No. 1761 of Gun Ordinance.
Dec. 31, 2004
Hwasun-eup was adjusted by making: Angnam 2 and 3-gu into Angnam 2-gu; Suman 1 and 2 gu into Suman 1-gu; Suman 3 and 4-gu into Suman 2-gu; Gangjeong-ri into Yeonyang 1-gu; Jeongu 1 and 2-gu of Hancheon-myeon into Jeongu-ri; Goshi-ri into Dongga-ri; Yanggok 1 and 2-gu of Chunyang-myeon into Yanggok-ri; Daeshin 3 and 4-gu into Daeshin 3-gu; Yonggok 1 and 2-gu into Yonggok-ri; Gadong-ri into Byeoncheon-ri; Yulgye 1 and 2-gu of Yiyang-myeon into Yulgye-ri; Mahnin 1 and 2-gu of Neungju-myeon into Mahnin-ri; Jiwol 2 and 3-gu of Doam-myeon into Jiwol 2-gu; Changrang 1 and 2-gu of Yiseo-myeon into Changrang-ri; Youngpyung 1 and 2-gu into Youngpyung-ri; Anshim 3-gu to be consolidated into Anshim 1-gu; Ingye 3-gu into Ingye 1-gu; Seori into Yasa 2-gu, Galduri into Anshim 1-gu; Songdan 3-gu of Bukmyeon into Songdan 2-gu; Dagok 1 and 2-gu into Dagok-ri; Yonggok 3-gu into Yonggok 2-gu; Ansung 1 and 2-gu of Dongbok-myeon into Ansung-ri; Sasu 3-gu of Nam-myeon into Sasu 2-gu; Namgye 1 and 2-gu into Namgye-ri; Bokgyo-ri to be consolidated into Jusan-ri; Seosung 1-gu of Dong-myeon into Seosung 2-ri; Chunggung 1 and 2-gu into Chunggung-ri; and Cheonduk 1-gu into Cheonduk 2 gu (No. 1832 of Gun Ordinance).
Mar. 8, 2006
Hwasun-eup was adjusted by making: Gyori 1-gu into Gyori 1 and 3-gu; Shingi 2-gu into Shingi 2 and 3-gu; Ilsim 4-gu into Ilsim 4 and 6-gu; Gwangduk 4-gu into Gwangduk 4 and 5-gu; Daeri 5-gu into Daeri 5 and 7-gu; Suman 2-gu into Suman 2 and 3-gu (No. 1076 of Gun Rules); Youngpyung-ri into Youngpyung 1 and 1-gu on Feb. 6, 2012 (No. 1231 of Gun Rules).
Currently Hwasun-gun consists of 1 Eup, 12 Myeons and 341 administrative Ri (s).